AWARDS Criteria


This is a one time AWARD.  Criteria: Based on the last 12 months as a DAAR member
Board Activity – 40%  Board office and committee work, handling of special assignments, seminar activity, educational work, and membership / offices held in local chapters of institutes, councils, and societies.
Civic Activity – 25%  Local, state, and national participation in civic and service organizations, charitable activities, political commissions, fraternal & religious groups.
REALTOR® Spirit – 20%  High principles, faithfulness to laws and regulations of the Code of Ethics and the member Board, and furtherance of principles of good real estate practice among other brokers and the general public.
Business Accomplishments – 15%  Recognized good business conduct, service to clients, imaginative and creative advertising programs, rehabilitation work, land utilization, etc.
If there is not a clear choice, the AWARD does not need to be presented this year.


 2016 Jerome Bleger  2003 Paula Schaefer  1991 Glenn Luchies
2015 Cathy Craig 2002 Geoff Overington 1990 Rich Berger
2014 Kelly Kniffin 2000 Lois Surmi 1989 John Wells
2013 Denise Storm 1999 Larry Turner 1988 Debra Parmenter
2012 Jarrod Nixon 1998 Susan Siegele 1987 Norma Engman
2011 Heather Erb 1997 Sandy Cooper 1986 Omar Richardson
2010 Don Ricedorff 1996 Lee Campbell 1985 Joy Clark
2009 Mark Donahue 1995 John Ralph 1984 Lou Clark
2007 Dave Maclaird 1994 Gina Piccoli  1983 Ned Jefferies
2006 Samantha Gallant 1993 John Mankins
2005 Ted Talmon 1992 Jim Wotkyns

COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD (Formerly Alton Dorsett Award)

This AWARD will be presented to any person (member or non-member) who has made a substantial contribution to the area regarding real estate and/or housing.  This AWARD may be presented more than once to the same person.  If there is not a clear choice, the AWARD does not need to be presented for this year.


2016 Kelsey Cline 2007   Sheri Rochford 1998   Bill Evans
2015 Christina Rinderle 2006   Bill Mashaw 1997   John Gamble
2014 John Wells 2005   Emil Wanaka 1995   Pete Turner
2013   Regional Housing Allnc. 2004   Tim Cooney 1994   Ron Pettigrew
2012   Justin Osborn 2003   Mary Nicholson 1993   O.M. “Will” Williams
2011   The Glacier Club 2002   Tina Pernosky 1992   Cathy Crum
2010   Peggy Schumann 2001   Pat Stull 1991   Rob Ptolemy
2009   Reid Ross 2000   Kathy Hodges 1990   Janie McLaughlin
2008   Tierra Group 1999   Kathy Ray Burgess  1989   Sandra Hilton

OUTSTANDING AFFILIATE AWARD (Formerly John Newton Memorial Award)

This AWARD honors an Affiliate Member (business or individual) who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the welfare of the Association.  This AWARD may be presented more than once to the same business or individual.  If there is not a clear choice, the AWARD does not need to be presented this year.


2016 The Glacier Club 2009  Bill Lambert 2002   Margie Sittner
2015 1st National Bank of Durango 2008  JR Spies 2001   Rob Ptolemy
2014 Rob Ptolemy – CO.          Land Title 2007 Wells Fargo Home Mortgage 2000   Terry Robertson
2013 Stewart Title 2006 Art Chase 1999 David Fountain
2012 Aaron Diem Real Est. Col. 2005 Carrie Griffin 1998 Paul Root
2011 Tim Robinson 2004 Judy Malone 1997 Jones Real Estate College
2010 David Fountain 2003 Suzi Loether 1996 Northwest Mortgage



This AWARD fills the void of honoring continued service to the Association by someone who may have already been given an AWARD, or for distinguished service that does not fit any of the other AWARD criteria. This would be awarded to an Association member for outstanding community or board activities at the discretion of the outgoing President.


2016 Gina Piccoli 2012  Terry Hutchison 2004 Gina Piccoli
2016 Jim Wotkyns 2011   Tim Cooney 2004   Lois Surmi
2015 Jarrod Nixon  2011   Lois Surmi  2003   Kathy Holmes
2015 Amanda Erickson  2010 Suzi Loether  2002 Lee Campbell
2015 Jo Ann Johnston 2010   Samantha Gallant 2002 Gina Piccoli
2015 Phylicia Rohde 2009   Gina Piccoli 2001 Debra Parmenter
2014  Denise Storm 2008   John Gillam 2001 Larry Turner
2014  Amanda Erickson 2007   Lois Surmi  2000 Pat Joan and Connie
2013  Jo Ann Johnston 2006  Sandy Cooper  1999 Gina Piccoli
2013  Jarrod Nixon 2006   Geoff Overington
2012  Lindsay Lubrant 2005   John Gillam



This is a one-time award honoring a member in good standing for their first two years as a member of the Association.  The criteria for selecting Rookie of the Year will be based on the member’s pursuit of education, REALTOR® involvement, Board activity including committees, Association meetings and fund raisers, ethical conduct and business accomplishments.  This award need not be presented unless there is a clear choice.


2016 Aaron Schenk  2009   Gayle Webster  2002   Robin Williams
2015 Melanie Cordes 2008   Nicole Perino 2001   Lisa Christensen
2014   Kelsey Cline 2007   Shaheen Hangval 2000   Susan Kemmerly
2013   Isaac Fleener 2006   Jarrod Nixon  1999   Katie Ogier
2012   Carrie Summers-Baikie 2005   Jessica Onions  1998   Geoff & Karen Overington
2012   Patricia Simonton 2004   Lisa Govreau
2011   Christina Rinderle 2003   Michael Howard


Named in honor of Past President, Paula Schaefer, this award will be presented to a REALTOR® member who embodies REALTOR® spirit. The recipient will be an active REALTOR® member having a sales production level for the past 12 months that positions them in the top 50%. They will be actively involved on at least one association committee, involved in Community Service either inside or outside the association, be a PSF contributor, attend at least 2 DAAR sponsored events, and working to expand their knowledge by taking classes towards additional CAR/NAR recognized designations.


2016 Jarrod Nixon  2011   Jerome Bleger  2006   Debra Parmenter
2015 Jim Wotkyns 2010   Heather Erb 2005   Kathy Holmes
2014   Debra Parmenter 2009   Sandy Cooper 2004   Chuck Muir
2013   Russ Smith 2008   Samantha Gallant
2012   Denise Storm 2007   Don Ricedorff